View Single Post
Old 11-16-2008, 08:18 AM   #18 (permalink)
Raidergoo
Hall Of Famer
 
Raidergoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 8,402
Thanks: 104
Thanked 78x in 52 posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by f.montoya View Post
Four sites that I host were hit this past week, including vMLB. We use the CMS Mambo along with phpbb2 or phpbb3, depending on how long the league has been around. Actually, on a few of the upgraded sites, the malicious code actually failed in it's purpose. That is to say, instead of the cross site scripting sending you to a different site to download a file, Mambo and phpbb actually quit and displayed an error. But a few other sites were running older versions of Mambo and phpbb. These sites would actually do what the script wanted and a pdf file would open after a few seconds and a browser redirect.

The location of the pdf file was at fany008.net(this is the domain and I don't want to post the whole url to the pdf file here) which I later tracked to a Mr John Mohov. While I don't think this guy would actually be attacking sites himself, he is listed as the owner of fany008.net and has a responsibility to remove the infected pdf file from his server and take appropriate preventative security action.

I am listing what is already publicly available on Mr. Mohov here:

john mohov
Email: bryanlink AT live.com (I will do him the courtesy of protecting his emal address from bots)
Organization: mohov ltd
Address: 2198 Bernard rd
City: New Vienna
State: oh
ZIP: 45159
Country: US
Phone: +7.4955123458
Fax:

The street address is to a farm. Here's a picture.

2198 Bernard rd New vienna OH - Google Maps

The country code on the phone number listed is 7, which is Russia, and area code is 495, which is Moscow, Russia.

Mohov is a Russian name.

A person in the state of Ohio would probably use a LLC to protect assets, not a limited partnership.

Last edited by Raidergoo; 11-16-2008 at 08:19 AM.
Raidergoo is offline   Reply With Quote