Home | Webstore
Latest News: Beyond the Sideline Football Announced! - OOTP 15 Announced! - OOTP 14: Update #7 Released! - FHM 2014: Version 1.5 Available! - Out Of The Park Baseball 14 Released! - iOOTP Baseball 2013 for iOS Available NOW! - Title Bout Championship Boxing 2.5 released!

OOTP 15 Announced - Pre-Order Now!

Beyond the Sideline Football Announced!
  

Go Back   OOTP Developments Forums > Earlier versions of Out of the Park Baseball > Earlier versions of OOTP: General Discussions

Earlier versions of OOTP: General Discussions General chat about the game...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-08-2008, 02:33 PM   #281 (permalink)
Hall Of Famer
 
Eugene Church's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 18,171
Thanks: 181
Thanked 185x in 111 posts
I'm up to date on this thread.
Eugene Church is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2008, 01:39 AM   #282 (permalink)
Minors (Single A)
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 54
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0x in 0 posts
Situation: runners on first and second, no outs, batter swings and misses at an 0-2 pitch. Play-by-play shows the catcher tagging the batter for the out.

The tag, however, is not necessary. According to Rule 6.05(c), "a batter is out when a third strike is not caught by the catcher when first base is occupied before two are out". The catcher does not need to tag the batter, or throw the ball to first base, in this instance.

This is probably not an error in the play-by-play text, rather an implementation of an incorrect interpretation of the rule.
Attached Images
 
ACM14850 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2008, 01:56 AM   #283 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,518
Thanks: 289
Thanked 131x in 103 posts
Infractions: 0/1 (4)
How do you know the catcher caught the ball? It says the ball was in the dirt, and that the catcher "scooped" it. Does that mean he caught the ball near the ground, or did it bounce in the dirt first?
Vinny P. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2008, 02:19 PM   #284 (permalink)
Hall Of Famer
 
Eugene Church's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 18,171
Thanks: 181
Thanked 185x in 111 posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ACM14850 View Post
Situation: runners on first and second, no outs, batter swings and misses at an 0-2 pitch. Play-by-play shows the catcher tagging the batter for the out.

The tag, however, is not necessary. According to Rule 6.05(c), "a batter is out when a third strike is not caught by the catcher when first base is occupied before two are out". The catcher does not need to tag the batter, or throw the ball to first base, in this instance.

This is probably not an error in the play-by-play text, rather an implementation of an incorrect interpretation of the rule.
I will post it in Bugzilla.
Eugene Church is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2008, 02:23 PM   #285 (permalink)
Hall Of Famer
 
Eugene Church's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 18,171
Thanks: 181
Thanked 185x in 111 posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nihilianth View Post
How do you know the catcher caught the ball? It says the ball was in the dirt, and that the catcher "scooped" it. Does that mean he caught the ball near the ground, or did it bounce in the dirt first?
Is it a catch, if the ball hit the ground and the catcher catches it on a bounce?
Eugene Church is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2008, 02:58 PM   #286 (permalink)
Minors (Single A)
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 54
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0x in 0 posts
Rule 6.05(b): "A batter is out when a third strike is legally caught by the catcher."

Rule 6.05(b) Comment: “Legally caught” means in the catcher’s glove before the ball touches the ground. It is not legal if the ball lodges in his clothing or paraphernalia; or if it touches the umpire and is caught by the catcher on the rebound.
If a foul-tip first strikes the catcher’s glove and then goes on through and is caught by both hands against his body or protector, before the ball touches the ground, it is a strike, and if third strike, batter is out. If smothered against his body or protector, it is a catch provided the ball struck the catcher’s glove or hand first.
ACM14850 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2008, 04:44 PM   #287 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,518
Thanks: 289
Thanked 131x in 103 posts
Infractions: 0/1 (4)
hhmmm, your batter swings and misses, and my interpretation from the text is that the ball hits the ground without even being tipped by the batter. In which case, it would be almost a wild pitch at the same. Which means the batter would have the right to go.

I know IRL, sometimes the catcher would just tag the batter if it is at all questionable by the catcher whether the batter has the right to go. He does that "just in case." It has happened to me a few times, where the catch would tag me, but I was not heading anywhere, but back to the bench.
Vinny P. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2008, 08:12 PM   #288 (permalink)
Minors (Single A)
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 54
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0x in 0 posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nihilianth View Post
hhmmm, your batter swings and misses, and my interpretation from the text is that the ball hits the ground without even being tipped by the batter. In which case, it would be almost a wild pitch at the same. Which means the batter would have the right to go.
How you can conclude exactly the opposite of what the rules says, I have no idea.

The batter swung and missed at a third strike. First base was occupied. There were less than two out. Whether the catcher caught the ball or not is irrelevant. If the catcher caught the ball, the batter is out by rule 6.05(b): "A batter is out when a third strike is legally caught by the catcher." If the catcher didn't catch the ball, the batter is still out, by rule
6.05(c), "A batter is out when a third strike is not caught by the catcher when first base is occupied before two are out". In either event, the batter is out, and there is no need for the catcher to tag the batter in order to put him out.
ACM14850 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2008, 10:27 PM   #289 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,518
Thanks: 289
Thanked 131x in 103 posts
Infractions: 0/1 (4)
OOHH, my fault, I thought first base was open.
Vinny P. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2008, 12:57 AM   #290 (permalink)
Hall Of Famer
 
Eugene Church's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 18,171
Thanks: 181
Thanked 185x in 111 posts
This is just a note to me, so I know I am up to date on this thread.
Eugene Church is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2008, 04:42 PM   #291 (permalink)
All Star Starter
 
SittingDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,834
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0x in 0 posts
EC, not a typo, but when a team clinches it's division or league, shouldn't they receive a news memo? Seems appropriate.
SittingDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2008, 05:31 PM   #292 (permalink)
Hall Of Famer
 
Eugene Church's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 18,171
Thanks: 181
Thanked 185x in 111 posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SittingDuck View Post
EC, not a typo, but when a team clinches it's division or league, shouldn't they receive a news memo? Seems appropriate.
Yes, that would be nice.

But first, Markus has to program it in the game.

Currently, all we get is a League Champions story, giving the score of the deciding game, how many titles the team has won and how they finished in the division with their position and season record.

There is a news story about the Playoffs beginning with a schedule of matchups in the opening round.

It has been requested that Markus cover the post-season in more detail and give a news story on each playoff game.

Maybe in OOTP10, if we are lucky.
Eugene Church is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2008, 06:09 PM   #293 (permalink)
All Star Starter
 
SittingDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,834
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0x in 0 posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eugene Church View Post
It has been requested that Markus cover the post-season in more detail and give a news story on each playoff game.

Maybe in OOTP10, if we are lucky.
Cripes, I had just come back here to mention this. During playoffs, IMO, it should be strictly playoff coverage without the trade rumor stuff. One game, one article.

There is also not enough pre-playoff build-up.

I really hope he'll get on that.

Otherwise, good deal.
SittingDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2008, 12:28 AM   #294 (permalink)
Hall Of Famer
 
Eugene Church's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 18,171
Thanks: 181
Thanked 185x in 111 posts
I'm up-to-date.

This is a note to myself.
Eugene Church is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2008, 03:56 AM   #295 (permalink)
Bat Boy
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0x in 0 posts
Unsure of where to put this, but i think here qualifies. It requires set up, and i have no screen shot because i didnt think ok it.

My starting pitcher has a shutout with 2 outs in the 9th. There are runners on 1st and 3rd. The batter hits a single up the middle and the runner from third scores. The runner on 1st gets throw out at 3rd. The PbP announces that the pitcher has thrown a shutout giving up so many hits etc etc.

After the game, when i realized what the PbP had said, i checked all the stats. All were correct for both teams (with the pitcher giving up a run and an rbi for the hitter and a run for the man on 3rd). Which is why i figured it should be posted here.

Sorry for no Screen shot. And if this is in the wrong place.
Buhner4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2008, 02:22 PM   #296 (permalink)
Hall Of Famer
 
Eugene Church's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 18,171
Thanks: 181
Thanked 185x in 111 posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Buhner4 View Post
Unsure of where to put this, but i think here qualifies. It requires set up, and i have no screen shot because i didnt think ok it.

My starting pitcher has a shutout with 2 outs in the 9th. There are runners on 1st and 3rd. The batter hits a single up the middle and the runner from third scores. The runner on 1st gets throw out at 3rd. The PbP announces that the pitcher has thrown a shutout giving up so many hits etc etc.

After the game, when i realized what the PbP had said, i checked all the stats. All were correct for both teams (with the pitcher giving up a run and an rbi for the hitter and a run for the man on 3rd). Which is why i figured it should be posted here.

Sorry for no Screen shot. And if this is in the wrong place.
You are in the right place.

Even if it was in the wrong place, I always appreciate someone who takes the time to make the game better.

I think this problem is in the Hard-Coded PBP, to which only Markus has access. I will report it as a bug.

Thanks for posting it.

Last edited by Eugene Church; 08-12-2008 at 09:47 PM.
Eugene Church is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2008, 10:18 PM   #297 (permalink)
Hall Of Famer
 
Raidergoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 8,620
Thanks: 220
Thanked 267x in 137 posts
I saw territory misspelled as terrotory in the PbP.
Raidergoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2008, 12:28 AM   #298 (permalink)
Hall Of Famer
 
Eugene Church's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 18,171
Thanks: 181
Thanked 185x in 111 posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raidergoo View Post
I saw territory misspelled as terrotory in the PbP.
Thanks.

I did a search for it and it did not show up.

Looks like tysok or pstrickert fixed it.

Last edited by Eugene Church; 08-14-2008 at 12:36 AM.
Eugene Church is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2008, 11:29 AM   #299 (permalink)
All Star Reserve
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tejas
Posts: 709
Thanks: 18
Thanked 33x in 14 posts
Hall of Fame message..

"After the induction ceremony Dundee was asked what was the most thrilling moment in his career. He responded quickly, "No doubt about it, your first hit in the big leagues —- that's tops. It means you're on your way. When you get the first hit, then you can get the rest.""

In the game, it shows up as A a box then a dash.
Bishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2008, 02:05 PM   #300 (permalink)
Hall Of Famer
 
Eugene Church's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 18,171
Thanks: 181
Thanked 185x in 111 posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bishop View Post
Hall of Fame message..

"After the induction ceremony Dundee was asked what was the most thrilling moment in his career. He responded quickly, "No doubt about it, your first hit in the big leagues —- that's tops. It means you're on your way. When you get the first hit, then you can get the rest.""

In the game, it shows up as A a box then a dash.
Thanks for posting the error.

The text database story was alright. I guess in the conversion, the use of "--" was not acceptable.

I took it out and just made it two sentences.

It now reads:

"No doubt about it, your first hit in the big leagues. That's tops. It means you're on your way. When you get the first hit, then you can get the rest."
Eugene Church is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1
Copyright © 2013 Out of the Park Developments